Grand Theft Auto IV
Excellent Critical Reception
11
0
0
0
Excellent
Good
Mediocre
Poor
Platform:
Xbox 360
Genre:
Action Adventure
Developer:
ESRB:
Mature
Release:
April 29, 2008
Publisher:
Critic Reviews
The following reviews are used to calculate the overall reception for this game. All applicable scores are converted to our simplified rating system based on the specifics offered by each publication or the tone of each review. You can read more about this here.
Filter: All Reviews | Standout Reviews
Sort By: Publication | Quality | Author | Standout | Date | Added | Reception
Crispin Boyer
April 27, 2008 - Excellent - If I could add only one thing to this otherwise outstanding, breakthough sequel, I'd want the zanier toys from San Andreas.
April 27, 2008 - Excellent - Almost everything you do in Liberty City would be good enough to drive its own game, and the best parts would be good enough to outrun the competition, but the reason it works so well is that Rockstar has made a game that requires no patience to play.
April 28, 2008 - Excellent - Grand Theft Auto IV is not just a great GTA game, but a legitimately great game. Rockstar North has taken the series that defined the previous gaming generation and not only updated it to meet next-gen standards, but raised the bar for all subsequent open-world games.
May 18, 2008 - Excellent - The combination of an excellent single player experience, vast multiplayer modes, phenomenal story, and unparalleled open-world gameplay make GTA IV an unforgettable experience that every adult gamer should absolutely not miss out on.
April 27, 2008 - Excellent - Finally, the wait for a true GTA multiplayer experience was well worth it, and the online game modes add a lot of value to an already jam-packed game.
April 28, 2008 - Excellent - Grand Theft Auto IV is a game that you simply have to play. The single-player game, which you can still play long after you complete the story, is the series' best by far, and the multiplayer features are good enough that you'll likely have no problem finding people to play with for many months to come.
April 27, 2008 - Excellent - Suffice it to say that Grand Theft Auto IV is a game that could keep anyone busy for a long, long time. Although its got plenty of excellent features, it's ultimately the storytelling that makes it an instant classic, a game unlike any we've played before.
George Walter
April 27, 2008 - Excellent - There will be detractors, for sure, but we're convinced that 97% of the gamers who purchase this whether they're existing fans or not will find themselves hooked on it at least until the release of new downloadable content later this year.
July 9, 2008 - Excellent - Rather than try to out-do the Crackdowns and the Saints Rows of the world with bigger land masses and more missions, Rockstar went the other way, and managed to craft an amazingly impactful story and weave it into an open-world game in an incredibly meaningful way--all without losing the heart and soul of what makes Grand Theft Auto so popular in the first place.
April 25, 2008 - Excellent - Certainly, GTA IV has some issues, the most noticeable being the occasional flaw in the cover system, but there are many more pieces of GTA IV that are better than anything I've seen from a game in the past decade.
April 28, 2008 - Excellent - We all knew GTA 4 would be a great game and sell millions of copies, but I didn't expect it to shame pretty much every other game I've played this generation.
Similar Games
If you like Grand Theft Auto IV, you may also be interested in:
XONE | Good
XONE | Good
New & Upcoming Releases
Copyright © 2009-2014 Prime Element Creations. All rights reserved.
Quick Links
Feedback